Opening La Jolla’s doors
by Mariko Lamb
Nov 14, 2012 | 1736 views | 0 0 comments | 3 3 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Bishop's School, Wisteria Cottage and the Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego are among the historic stops on the Open Doors La Jolla tour. Photos courtesy of Found Image and the La Jolla Historical Society.
view image
The doors to La Jolla’s rich architectural history will open Nov. 18 with the second annual Open Doors La Jolla, a free one-day walking tour through the Village’s cultural zone with knowledgeable docents to guide participants as they get an up-close look at La Jolla’s longstanding cultural heritage and historical architecture.

From 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m., participants at the community event will have the rare opportunity to peek into La Jolla’s past with stops at eight of the Village’s historic buildings, including the Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, The Bishop’s School, the Cuvier Club, Wisteria Cottage, La Jolla Presbyterian Church, La Jolla Woman’s Club, Museum of Contemporary Art and St. James by-the-Sea Episcopal Church.

Knowledgeable local architects — including Laura DuCharme-Conboy of DuCharme Architecture, Lydia Straus-Edwards of Design-In-Tandem and Straus-Edwards Associates Architects, and Shari G. Grant of Architectural Presence — will guide participants along the tour through a number of significant architectural styles that are prevalent and unique to La Jolla, such as Irving Gill’s early modernism, Russell Forester’s mid-century modernism and Robert Venturi’s post-modern style. Other interesting architectural designs include one-of-a-kind beach cottages and buildings of Mediterranean-inspired design.

Guests can also design their own itinerary for a self-guided tour throughout the cultural zone. Free parking is available in The Bishop’s School garage, located at 7607 La Jolla Blvd. For more information about the tour, call (858) 459-3421 or email OpenDoorsLaJolla@CuvierClub.com.

Comments
(0)
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet