People in the news
Published - 10/10/12 - 03:13 PM | 4342 views | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Image 1 / 8
Daniel Bradbury
• The Scripps Research Institute recently named chemistry professor Dale Boger, 59, chairman of its Department of Chemistry.

Boger is internationally recognized for his work in organic synthesis, medicinal chemistry and bioorganic chemistry, among others. He has also received a number of awards for his work, including the Searle Scholar Award, the ISHC Katritzky Award, the Paul Janssen Prize, and American Chemical Society awards in organic synthesis, natural products and peptide chemistry. He is also an elected member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

“I’m honored to have the opportunity to serve the faculty,” said Boger. “We have a fabulous program and a remarkably distinguished group of faculty, and I look forward to working together with them to ensure the department’s continued ascent as the premier program in the country.”

Boger’s new position took effect on Oct. 8.

• Steven Chung, former executive chef at The Capital Grille in Los Angeles, was recently named chef partner of Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse in La Jolla.

“Fleming’s is all about great food, great ambiance and great people, and Steven’s abilities and affinities completely reflect our discerning values and goals,” said Casey Eades, operating partner of Fleming’s La Jolla. “Every meal he prepares is destined to become a memorable meal.”

Chung, a nearly 30-year veteran in the restaurant business, served as owner-operator of the Italian-influenced catering company Ryang Chung Group and downtown Los Angeles Korean barbecue and Hawaiian fusion eatery Seoul Grindz before traveling on a two-year culinary tour of Asia and Europe. Upon his return in 2009, he joined Fleming’s in Los Angeles as a line cook, where he quickly rose through the ranks to Sous Chef within a year.

“I am looking forward to being an active part of the La Jolla community and to preparing spectacular meals that will encourage guests to come back for more,” said Chung. “I believe in Fleming’s menu, its superior steaks and creative side dishes, and our new small plates and lighter, more women-friendly fare. The incredible selection of wines allows us to provide the perfect pairing every time.”

• La Jolla Golden Triangle rotarian Murugi Kenyatta will be honored with the Opportunity Award at the annual OceanLeaf Awards Celebration for her advocacy work with San Diego’s Somali and East African refugee population residing in San Diego, an estimated 30,000 person community.

The Kenyan-born-and-raised women’s advocate brought her personal experience witnessing the power of women in their roles improving families and communities in East Africa to her work with the Foundation of Women, where she serves as the community liaison between the organization and the communities it serves.

Also a member of the La Jolla Golden Triangle Rotary Club, Kenyatta helps lead Rotary-funded projects — Project Refuge and the Somali Women Sewing Center — that benefit the East African community in San Diego by providing housing and a supportive community services to help refugees transition to self-sufficiency.

Kenyatta will be honored with the award on Oct. 17 at the Jacobs Center Market Creek Plaza.

• Four La Jolla residents — Robert Sullivan, Daniel Bradbury, Harry Hixson, Jr. and Lynne Schenk — were recently honored with Director of the Year awards from Corporate Directors Forum, an organization that recognizes outstanding directors in San Diego who have made a significant positive contribution in the boardroom or behind the scenes.

Sullivan, director of Cubic Corporation, was honored as Director of the Year for Corporate Governanace; Bradbury, president and CEO of Amylin Pharmaceuticals, was honored as Director of the Year for Enhancement of Economic Value; Hixson, chairman and CEO of Sequenom, was honored as Director of the Year for Companies in Transition; and Schenk, director of Sempra Energy and Biogen IDEC, was recognized for with the Lifetime Achievement award in Corporate Governance.

“Being a director is both a challenging and important job, and these individuals have provided exceptional knowledge, insight and direction to their companies,” said Jack Yelverton, Director of the Year chairman. “Corporate Directors Forum believes better boards make better companies, and these honorees have truly made a positive impact for their organizations.”

• Jeff Silberman was recently appointed as the Jewish Community Foundation board of directors’ new chairman along with five new board members, who began serving on the board in July.

Silberman’s leadership experience as a foundation board member spans seven years, including in positions as vice chairman and Human Resources Committee chair. He has also served as the past president of Congregation Beth Israel and currently serves on the board at Francis Parker School.

Silberman will succeed Emily Einhorn, who led the foundation for a two-year term and will continue to serve on the foundation’s board and executive committee.

The foundation also welcomes five new board members, Janet Acheatel, Graeme Gabriel, Orin Green, Caryn Viterbi and Eric Weitzen.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
Comments are back! Simply post the comment (it'll complain about you failing the human test) then simply click on the captcha and then click "Post Comment" again. Comments are also welcome on our Facebook page.